Competition vs. Collaboration…

Got Competition? Embrace Collaboration!

Competition? No! Collaboration!

Build Together Through Collaboration...

I acknowledge the existence of healthy competition. If I was the only one doing what I do, I think I’d probably get bored. There’s so much to learn from someone with more talent, different experiences, varying attitudes and behaviors.

I honor those who have walked a path similar to mine and indulge in the exchange with fellow writers who understand exactly what that special “thing” is that makes us burn inside for the art of lingo. Maybe it’s the discovery of a catchy phrase, or watching our words and sentences move people. Maybe it’s a power thing. Maybe it’s an artist thing.

Well, whatever it is that propels us forward as copywriters, I choose to look competition direct into its gnarly  face and see it for what it truly is – a rare opportunity to join forces with a skilled professional. Collaboration can come in a wide variety of forms:  knowledge sharing, living examples of what to do and what not to do, mutual compassion for the woes of our industry, actual project sharing.

I know! It’s scary. What if they steal my client? What if they low ball their price? What if they’re just too similar and make me question myself and feel inferior? Well, sorry dudes and dudettes. It’s time to get over that ego hump and jump into the cool, refreshing pool of “two, three, four heads is WAAAAAAAY better than one.”

Imagine what you’ll accomplish when you share! Think of the fun to be had! Envision the shrunken learning curve! You, too, can have it all when you take the leap and choose to accept competition into your career as the chance to play, dream and create within and beyond.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Change, Connection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

