Baggage…

Travel is my catalyst…

luggage travel

What Are You Taking Along?

When I go on a trip, I really like to pack light. I can’t stand having to trudge up some hill, flip-flopping my way with just too much baggage in tow. I’m a little person, so I really don’t need to be taking along a lot of things with me.

When I am walking around with my bags, I am always reminded of how much baggage I carry around with me on a day to day basis. Now, I’m not talking about my physical load of garments, toiletries and souvenirs. I’m more referring to my personal belongings – the attachment I have to pain, resentment, anger or unfulfilled longings.

Is it absolutely necessary for me to journey through life with burdensome packages of negative energy, collected from misconstrued experiences or ill-fortuned relationships? When I meet a new friend or visit a different place or have a fresh experience, should I really drag in all the old stuff with me?

Now, I don’t go along empty handed. I sincerely cherish my valuable past experiences like little shiny souvenirs. I think these are important to remind me of the important lessons I’ve learned along my way. However, those memories and reminders that no longer serve my present nor my future must be sorted out and discarded with yesterday’s spoiled trash.

Shall we make room and find space in our hearts for the good that awaits us on our path? I suggest to carry around a good helping of love and goodwill. This we could give away most freely. Such an act of positive generosity is sure to fuel us with the energy needed to keep going in the right direction.

Safe travels, my friends.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Change, Letting Go, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baggage…

  1. Celine Dellaneira says:

    Interesting. First hand experience I can relate to carraying unwanted baggage with me. Now some of it was negative and i held on to it as a way of making me stronger and as a protective shield. Or so i had made myself believe so. What i ended up realizing is that it was damaging to my persona. I had become a human being filled with anger and it had become my drive to succeed in life. At some point i took a good look in the mirror to really see the person within. When i did, i saw that all that negative baggage should have been used to grow as a person and become wiser. Thus, i decided to do the brave action of letting go of the baggage. This was liberating since i now know i can welcome all experiences and grow from them. The question though is why some of individuals decide to carry such baggage in their life knowing they have it and cant let go?

    • Tesz Millan says:

      This is a very wise point, Celine. I, too, know of people who would rather hold onto their negative baggage, than feel the freedom and ease of letting it go. I believe that when a person makes the choice to let go of what they know, it leaves them “vulnerable” to the unknown. They suddenly have the space to acquire a brand new experience. This can be so intimidating for people who have held onto their “baggage” for years! I admire your strength in being able to let go of what was holding you back. You embraced the chance to lessen your load and inspire yourself with a new sense of possibility.

Leave a Reply

