Lost and Found…

And now a few words inspired by the marvelous Elen Sparks…

lost and found
Which Way Do I Go?

Ever been lost and found?

While on my daily walk this week I suddenly became aware I had taken an unfamiliar turn. I was lost. Well, at least for a moment.

I started to look around and soon made my way back to the right path again. With a slight smirk on my face,  I started to think back to that strange and unexpected moment where I had suddenly lost my way. “What was I doing that got me so lost in the first place?” I realized at that moment that I had lost myself in a brief space of thought-filled daydreaming. My innocent body had simply followed suit. In my train of thought were moments that had actually gone right in my week. Places I had given a smile and been offered friendship in return. Moves I had made on life’s chessboard that allowed me to win the game, even if for just a brief moment.

Then I realized I was going to be late and considered crashing that train of happy thought into a mountain of frustration and fear. “Why had I gotten lost? Why wasn’t I paying closer attention? What’s wrong with me?” Sure I was going to be late due to my lack of focus. But then I did something remarkable. I made a choice. I chose to accept that the reason I had gotten lost was because I was happy. I was actually floating on a cloud of glee. I kept thinking to myself, “Life. Hee, hee.” So, I made the choice to seek happiness instead of fear and began to skip on my merry way back to where I had originally wanted to go.

What led up to this particular day of lost and found was a conveyor belt of confused puzzle pieces repeating day after day. I was a slave to inconsiderate thought, forced to face my demons without any armor. It was almost as if I had forgotten the pleasure of enjoying the moment in its purest form and gave way to a river of guilt and insecurity. To compensate, I was busy doing busy things and not really getting anywhere of value.

But somehow, this day was different. I had started off expecting to stay on the right path, and ended up getting lost. Why? Because I was actually happy.

And in the end, I chose happiness.

So what do you do with a moment that shows up in your life that you just can’t understand? Its unrecognizable form causes you to stray from your path and feel the loss of intuitive security. Do you lay down and cry? Or do you take this moment for a walk? I began to see that this moment of loss had given me the gift of inspiration. By walking, I was inspired to live in my happy moments, get lost and be found again.

My newly found direction has now led me to sleepless nights of pure bliss. “Work,” as some call it, is now what I call “fun.” I have regained the space and movement to feel so grateful for all the amazing opportunities and abilities that have unraveled in my life like the warm wings of a brand new butterfly.

In the past, if you had found me on a path I didn’t recognize, I would have been in a complete state of panic. I would have been so engrossed in the scary movie playing in my head, full of hateful insecurity and fear, that I would have missed every ounce of possibility and hope. I would have neglected that beautiful moment where I realized that my loss was actually embedded deep inside a puffy cloud of happy thought.

Today I am back to find new ways to come alive, new ways of opening up and a playful new way of seeing things. All I can say is, “what a difference a day makes.”

Here’s to being lost and found.

Cheers.
Elen Sparks

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

