Having Fun?

Is it possible that I actually had fun at “work” today?

dumbfounded

Huh? Fun? Huh?

I have been tormented a great deal of my life with the idea of having fun. “I have to have fun! Why aren’t I having fun? Why is it so hard to have fun? How do I have fun?” On and on like a rat trapped in a labrynth.

And today, I was especially stuck in the self-induced maze of my mind. I couldn’t stop thinking, “Oh my holy bahjeezus! How the f%$? will I get through all of this work and not pop my brain like an innocent egg thrown vehemently against a rival’s bedroom window?” And I spun out of control into constrictive fear. I wanted out. I just had no idea how to get there.

So I worked. And I did my job. Then suddenly, in the midst of it all, something miraculous happened. I decided to show a dear friend a piece I was diligently working on. She patiently read and then proceeded to walk me through the process of “fluffing it up.” We fluffed and we puffed and we friggin’ blew that piece out of the water. And you know what? It was fun! I laughed – hard. I played – hard. And I became soft. And I breathed for the first time in 4 days.

Yes, my friends, I actually had fun at work. I experienced what it was like to skip around in a collaboratively safe space and come out with flowers instead of bruises. Bright, big clouds instead of stormy tears. Butterflies instead of buzzards.

And we’ve only just begun to play. You’re gonna love the plans for our office space. And you know what, you are all invited. Already. SERIOUSLY! There’s a creative play space for everyone in this office of the future. I even have a name for it… but you’ll find that out when we open the doors for the first time.

Thank you, Universe. Can’t wait for recess!

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Change, Connection, Fun, Grateful, Letting Go, Love, R&R and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Having Fun?

  1. 😀 Glad you had fun. Blurry hel, what were the chances of that, then?

Leave a Reply

