No More Moving…

I no longer wish to be a nomad…

tents of movement

"Tents of Movement"

As a freelancer, one has the freedom to go anywhere to work, play and live. The trips appear exotic and exciting. Perhaps those who are rooted to their jobs or life situation find envy rising up like a hot steam when stories of travel unravel into conversation. There is something romantic and tantalizingly dangerous about constantly being on the move.

Yet, I have to break it to you all. Traveling like a nomad is not all it’s cracked up to be.

You must become adept at precisely planning which tools, clothing or important belongings must be taken, shed or left behind. You are highly dependent on the kindness of friends and sometimes strangers to offer you a place to rest. You must carry all of your baggage up stairs, down hills and across nations. Your nourishment is rarely determined by your own hand.

Purely negative is not what I wish to be regarding this way of life. I lived it for a good number of years. I loved every moment, even the dispicably difficult ones. Being location independent served my purposes extremely well. I was at a place where I wanted to explore the world. Prove to myself I could do it on my own. Push the boundaries of my physical presence.

But now I wish to root vertically instead of spread my life essence horizontally. I want to cultivate space and effect change more intensely and with focused design. I choose to watch the scenery change around me in subtle shifts as I stand still.

I admire and honor those who choose a path of everpresent mobility. And sit in awe when they fly past. And thank every moment that I can be content in the very spot I have chosen.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Change, Connection, Grateful, Letting Go, Movement, Realization and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No More Moving…

  1. imakeshitup says:

    When you are lucky enough to snag a client who realizes you need to live, breathe and expereince their product…that’s a copywriter’s nirvana. When a client understands your need to immerse yourself into their product or service to best write about it, ou’ve hit the motherlode.

    • Tesz Millan says:

      This is so true! I’ve done both where I’ve been able to experience the product and where I have to walk through the darkness. It can make life so much easier when you’ve got your subject right in front of you. I always try to do a personal interview just to get to know the client and where they’re coming from. It’s also so much more fun this way…

Leave a Reply

