Hangry…

Hungry + Angry = Hangry

bag for being hungry and angry

"Hangry & Angry" Is A Real J-Pop Duo. Go Figure.

I suppose from all the running around and constant working, I’m burning a lot of energy. END RESULT: I’m incessantly hungry. Do you become moody when you’re hungry? The kind of moody that can be equated to scratching nails down a chalkboard? I most certainly do. One fine evening a dear friend of mine in advertising/marketing blurted out the word “hangry,” and ever since I’ve joyfully had a word to describe my spurts of “RAARRRR!” (coming to you both in attitude form and from the stomach region).

But more than hungry, I’ve been angry. Angry at a lot of things that happened a long time ago. Injustices that were played against my person, my independence, my sense of self. Usually these petrified feelings come up when I’m really tired (or really hungry), and so I’ve been confronted a lot lately with these old, rusty feelings.

And I realized something… ya gotta go through it. ALL of it. For YEARS I analyzed, rose above it, deemed it “not worthy” of taking up my time and energy. I was adamant to move on, to not let anger rule me, to let go. But the reality of the matter is this…

We were all put on this planet to fully live our lives and learn our lessons. Each one was given especially to us to experience the very essence of our existence. So cut the crap, stop avoiding those icky parts of life and go through it all. It’s the one true way to really let go. Only from diving deep, and I mean WAY DEEP, can we truly understand the complexity of our emotions and reactions. And finally move forward.

Now in no way do I advocate dragging someone else through your hang up. It’s yours and yours alone. I suppose that’s why so many of us avoid our emotions like the plague. We can’t really make someone else feel what we feel, no matter how hard we try. We just can’t share this particular burden. You simply have to own up to it one-hundred pro and keep on truckin’.

So your mission, should you choose to accept it, involves looking your old baggage in the face and embracing everything it brings up. Hang on and enjoy the ride. Don’t worry, we’ll see each other through it…

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Angry, Change, Letting Go, Movement, Realization and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hangry…

  1. Glenda Pitts says:

    Great post Tesz! I know that burning energy in anger creates nothing but exhaustion. And brings no peace. Thank God I know now where peace truly comes from!

    • Tesz Millan says:

      Yes, finding peace of mind is quite wonderful. I agree that simply being angry for the sake of being angry gets a person no where. I appreciate my anger as the gatekeeper to acknowledging all aspects of my true feelings. Beyond the anger is acceptance, compassion, understanding, forgiveness. I honor the full spectrum of my emotional experience and move forward freely and gladly.

Leave a Reply

