Gimme a Break…

Break me off a piece of vacation and rest…

"Chillin' With My Sheeps..."

Some say it can’t be done. But while I lived in Europe I saw plenty of folk taking a standard 4-6 weeks of vacation away from their jobs, and come back more spirited, injected with fresh energy and ready to take on the world. As hard as it may be to believe that this can happen, it is possible to take a much needed break, still be highly effective at your job and even indulge in the likely possibility of being better at what you do.

Since I’ve moved back, I’ve forgotten this. In 2011, I overworked, overran, and overdid everything. I had my reasons, most of them lined with good intention, a good number of them drowned in a pool of fear (of failure, of becoming destitute, of not feeding my hungry ego), and thankfully I’ve come out alive and with all body parts still intact.

Was it all worth it? Every holiday here in the States, I take a quick stroll around Facebook (“Fah-cheh” as my BF affectionately calls it) and see numerous posts stating things like, “Office hours are open!” “The early bird catches the worm!” “What are you doing for your clients while everyone else is sleeping?!” and I think to myself, “Where’s the love? Love for some free time? Love for your family and friends who don’t get to spend that time with you? Love for yourself who is crying out for some much needed ‘Me Time’?”

Looking back on this past year, I did my fair share of overtime. And part of me is relieved that things turned out the way they did. But for next year I wish for myself, my fellow freelancing peeps and the world as a whole, more peace. You heard right – I’m wishing for some serious, hearty, good ol’ world peace. Peace of mind in fully trusting that limited office hours are actually a good thing. Taking time off is most certainly allowed. And being just as enthused about vacation as work is worthy enough to make its way to the headline posts of many a Fah-cheh Friends indeed.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Change, R&R and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gimme a Break…

  1. Visionkeeper says:

    Tesz…That is what is wrong in this country, nobody takes the time to know who they are or what they want, or what holds meaning for their life. It’s quicksand and everyone is going under fast! If they could just reconnect with their spirits I think we could turn this mess around…Simplicty is bliss.
    VK

    • Tesz Millan says:

      I really am sad when I see those around me not reflecting on what they are giving their energy to and how they are affecting those around them. It’s so important to remind those we care about to see the bigger picture that goes beyond their immediate needs and realize that we’re all in this together.

  2. To Tesz , you are simply amazing how wonderful it is to now someone like you so warm kind and smart you should be so proud of yourself you make a difference in other peoples lives so thank ,´´ Gimme a break´´ makes me realise it is important to give time for yourself and for friends . Sending u lots of sparkling energy from kim

    • Tesz Millan says:

      Thanks, Kim! I’m always amazed and inspired by friends like you who glow with enthusiasm and excitement for life and its marvelous treasures. YOU are simply amazing, my friend. Lots of love to Germany!

  3. Pingback: Cuz I’ve Got To Have Faith… | TESZ MILLAN * COPYWRITER

Leave a Reply

