Everything Happens For A Reason…

Intention. It’s the most powerful force we have.

"Jewels of Intention" by Michelle Oravitz

I remember being 14-years-old, laying face up on my bed, crying. I was forlorn. My mother believed with all her heart that she could create a life of happiness for me if I followed her plan. I was to be a singer. I was to take over the world with song and dance.

And through all the feather boas, saxophone interludes and vocal acrobatics, I was not happy. Instead, I was crying.

I’ve gone through years of processing my childhood to come to the conclusion that this story is not one of punishment or victimization. Through every experience I had both on stage and off, I learned one very important thing. The universe is there to unfold the path you wish to see.

Despite forging ahead with the singing career, I knew deep down that I never wanted to be famous. I never wanted to go on world tours and sing until I was 72.

What I did know was that I wanted to find true happiness. MY happiness. And I wanted to see the world.

So, as I lay crying on my bed over 18 years ago, I spoke out loud my purest intention. “Please take me away. Anywhere. Bring me somewhere else where I can be happy. Where I can love my mother for who she is and not get run over by what she wants for me. Let me find a safe space where I can decide for myself what I really want.”

Four months later, my dad announced we would be moving to Singapore. And my mother decided to stay in Arizona. My sister had already moved to Philadelphia. And I made my very first “big girl” decision. I left for Singapore with my father.

And found space. Space to make my own mistakes. To process. To fully understand. To recognize myself and my place in the Universe.

Whether it be coincidence or intention, I have to say – I got exactly what I asked for. And this was the first of many similar experiences where intention rose to the surface and cleared the path for me.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Connection, Letting Go, Movement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

