One Page At A Time…

How does one truly persevere when the odds seem insurmountable?

Pearl in Shell

"This doesn't happen overnight, people!"

So often throughout my life I’ve started something with the thought that in order for it to be good for me, I had to enjoy every single moment of it. This led me to many situations of fear induced frustration drawn upon not being perfect from the very beginning. Absurd, I know, but nonetheless, the barraging line of questions would commence like ants trumpeting their way to a picnic:

* Why am I struggling?
* What is the person next to me doing?
* Why does it look so easy for others while I’m sweating and shaking in my boots?
* What is wrong with ME that I’m not easy-breezy, having fun, making it happen?

This questioning and outburst of insecurity would lead me to suddenly (and often violently) throw my new saxophone, textbook or toy in the corner and quit, never to return to the age of discovery again.

A few weeks ago I was Skyping with Mr. CIA (in this case, CIA stands for Creative Intelligent Artist) and he shared with me one of the most beautiful pearls of wisdom and inspiration. He said, “You know, I figured if I have to write a thesis that’s about 350 pages long, I simply have to write one page a day. I’ll be done within the year and reach my deadline with time to spare.”

That was it. That was the pearl. After years of thinking I could never write a book, or become truly good or “gifted” at something, I suddenly thought to myself, “OH! Just one page a day, and a book I shall make.”

Just one day at a time. Consistently. With love and trust, regardless of the outcome. Come rain or shine. Like meditation. Or being in a relationship. Writing a book. Or creating a pearl.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Change, Realization and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Page At A Time…

  1. Visionkeeper says:

    Thanks Tesz….I love pearls of wisdom…Appreciate it 🙂 VK

Leave a Reply

