A Letter…

Dearest friends,
When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone you love?

What's In A Letter?

Being a child of the paper age, before digital communication really hit it big, I’ve witnessed the slow, steady decline of the handwritten letter.

I remember a time when pen pals ruled. When receiving a personal letter in the mail was actually normal. Just like my big sister, I was a diligent pen pal writer. I found these long distance friends in various countries and would proudly send 2-3 page letters (all handwritten) to places like Australia, Japan and Indonesia. Inside would be my thoughts, hopes and dreams. Often they included small gems like pictures, pressed flowers or stickers of frogs and birds.

But just as exciting as writing the letter and sending it off was receiving a letter in return. Every time a brightly colored envelope would peak out between a stack of junk mail and grocery store ads, I would run quickly back into the house, find the nearest butter knife and slice my way into pen pal bliss.

But that was a long time ago. And such moments have become quite rare…

Recently, one of those dear pen pal buddies decided to start writing to me again. Her last letter which I received four days ago was really special. Not only did she take the time to write me a beautiful note sharing her thoughts and latest experiences, but she actually hand made a card for me where her letter of friendship was placed. I was so touched. For a moment, it felt like she came for a brief visit. Our lives continue to intertwine, and such letters help me feel connected to her despite the incredible distance that lies between us.

So, once again I ask: When was the last time you sent a handwritten letter to someone you really care about? If it’s been a while, I encourage you to pick up that pen, and take a moment. A letter is a true gift. It means, “You matter.” It means, “You are worthy of my time.” It means “Love.”

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Connection, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Letter…

  1. Visionkeeper says:

    Letter writing is the best!! I always said getting a letter was like receiving a gift in your mailbox It reminds me of what the kindle is doing to the book. How wonderful it is to hold a book and smell the pages growing yellow with age and use. I will forever read books and I will forever write letters. They hold a meaning you cannot get from the alternatives….Thanks…VK

  2. Angel Marie says:

    Great reminder, Thanks! I think I will send my Mama a letter right now. She does love getting them.

Leave a Reply

