Convention For All…

Knowing what you are not helps you understand what you are…

Winnie the Pooh Mirror

"I Can't Bear Convention"

I wouldn’t say that I am conventional in the least bit. I don’t do corporate. I’ll tolerate a chain restaurant, but would much rather visit a “Tante Emma” restaurant where I’m the only person eating who orders in English. I rarely follow trends. And I don’t settle for the first parking space I see in the parking lot.

I’m also not ultra-eccentric. Going over the edge is a rare occurrence for me. I’d rather be quiet than loud. And once I see a system or formula that makes sense to me and presents a logical outcome that quiets my inner-skepticism rather than raising my army of defenses, I’m all over it in a heartbeat.

Often when I’m confronted with an impulse that urges me to go down a particular path, the first thing I do is take a good look around. What’s happening around this particular choice? Who else is following and how does it affect them? Finally, I ask: How is this affecting me right now? Do I feel safe? Can I relate to the process and its outcome? Is this really for me?

Probably from being told way too often what I should be doing and not having the courage in the past to follow through with what my gut was telling me to do, I retract from following blindly and doing what is expected. I question and question and question again,

“Is this really, truly right for me?”

The answer is not always what I expect. More often than not, it is. Whether I choose to follow that gut reaction, is another blog in itself. But I at least know this to be true: I am on my path. This may not be the path that is conventional to all, or even to a select few. But it is just right for me. Clearly. Soundly. And most important of all, honestly.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Challenges, Change, Connection, Faith, Grateful, Letting Go, Movement, Question, Realization and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

