Heritage…

Looking back is the guide to moving forward…

mom & tatang

“Faded, But Not Forgotten…”

As we grow older together and important figures in our lives take their departure, we recognize the importance of our connection to the past. It’s relevance can be the key to determining how we move forward into our future.

Naturally there must be some sort of balance between the past, the here and now, and the soon to be. Some people latch onto the past out of fear of dealing with their present. They cower from the wonders of an unknown future. Those who ignore the past and focus solely on the present run the risk of repeating mistakes, and losing connection to the rich experiences cultivated by their elders. Future seekers find themselves wandering around in the clouds, never present to the reality that surrounds them.

But while the future holds the magic of all that is possible and the present is what we make of it, the past holds a secret map to our culture, our people, and our heritage. It connects us soundly to who we are today, and sheds light on what we can become tomorrow.

I look at this picture of my mother with her father, surrounded by the hesitant faces of her brothers and sister, and consider how much of them is in me. I often forget that I come from a beautiful line of passionate, stubborn, perplexed, brilliant people. They’re all right there. Lifting me up from the past, showing me where I came from. I am grateful for their presence. I honor their place in my life, whether near or far, and humbly thank them for being the foundation on which I can take off and fly.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Celebration, Connection, Grateful, Love, Realization and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heritage…

  1. enjoyfdotcom says:

    Busy lives but daily relaxation moments are essential. Welcome to visit http://enjoyF.com/ everyday to relax comfortably! Have a good time! (I am sorry if i bother you)

  2. I just love this and it’s so true. Really made me think about my family and how they are/were? Where I fit in and how I see where I am going. Thank you Tesz, you not only write beautifully, your messages are heart felt. Hugzzzz Angel Marie

  3. Beautiful Tesz! Thank you for sharing with us…

Leave a Reply

