Let Go and Let Be…

Acting to get a reaction is reacting for an action…

hand dropping sand

“Flowing.”

I spent some time this weekend with a good friend who really likes to push, prod, and pull the environment around her. Like a strong wind that causes you to lean forward to maintain your balance, her unabashed inquisitiveness really caused people to react outside of the expected script dialogue. More interestingly, there were also those who held onto the script like their lives depended on it. How they chose to react was determined by the fortitude of the person, and it was fascinating to witness the reactions that rose up around her.

Later I asked myself why we are compelled to behave in ways that inflict a particular reaction, for our motives are not often wholly unintentional. There are moments when we consciously define the chain reaction we wish to see. So to optimize our success, we shift and position ourselves to create the very scene we’ve captivated with our intention.

Is it impossible for us to just let the Universe move on in its own form and fashion, without feeling like we have to control and manipulate our surroundings? And more importantly, why do we push, prod, and pull? Is it a matter of survival? Of understanding oneself better? To avoid boredom and inspirational decay? To curb our fear of the unknown? To avoid something we dread? To have fun?

I challenge myself everyday to flow with joy, contentment, and love in everything that surrounds my being. Sometimes I get stuck in old habits of self-pity and discouraged frustration – my mind can quickly flare up when it doesn’t match my heart or my reality. But the more I let go and let be, the more rewards I reap from that which comes to me naturally.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Letting Go, Question, Realization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let Go and Let Be…

  1. Visionkeeper says:

    Hi Tesz… It can be summed up in one word…EGO! Silence the ego and then you can go with the flow in any given direction. Ego is a hard one to master but it is the key to living life fully. Good luck friend….VK

    • Tesz Millan says:

      I was directly confronted with the strength of my ego at a Vipassana meditation retreat back in 2006. Totally called out, I was confused and embarrassed. Now I recognize the EGO for its place in my life, and welcome the many lessons it has to teach me. I agree that silencing the Ego at times is good, but it is also what allows us to rise above seemingly hopeless situations. Ego is the challenge that keeps life pushing and pulling… so true, VK!

Leave a Reply

