Gracias Por Su Creación…

The Philippines was ruled by the Spaniards for over 300 years.

art from carlos navarrete

“A reflection of our shared heritage…”
Artist: Carlos Navarette

I am a part of them, just as they are a part of me. My skin is somewhat light because of them. Though I am 100% Pilipina, many people looked confused when I explain to them that my DNA is not mixed.

I discovered some incredible Latin artwork today. The creators also hold an entity of Spanish inside their bones, though they are not from the Philippine Islands. Their vision spoke to me. Their heritage. The way the culture captivated me through their expression. I could relate to the boldness. The colors. The vibrancy. The pride. The fear of being vulnerable. The longing to be understood.

Though we historically come from vastly different regions of the world, we speak the same unspoken language. Their body of work translated itself before me, and I responded. I coveted great respect. I was honored.

Gracias.
Esperanza Gama.
Jose Andres Giron.
Cristina Cardenas.
Carlos Navarrete.
Salamat.

About Tesz Millan

I am a professional singer of stage, radio, and television and love the process of giving life to my other passion - writing. Being a freelance copywriter, singer, and all around entrepreneur gives me the passion to live my life to the fullest everyday.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Connection, Love, Realization and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gracias Por Su Creación…

  1. Pingback: To Be or Not To Be… | TESZ MILLAN * COPYWRITER

  2. Pingback: The Artist… | TESZ MILLAN * COPYWRITER

  3. Pingback: The Artist… | TESZ MILLAN * COPYWRITER * BLOG

Leave a Reply

